Our “Why”

12004807_10152975916945916_1630794503813162790_n

 

Hello, Jessica here. I just want to take a few minutes to introduce you to Gilliam’s Photography, and give you a little taste of our story, and how we got to this place of pursuing photography. I have had a passion for the art of photography since I was in 5th grade. I remember always asking my Mom to buy me disposable cameras. I would take pictures of anything, and everything under the sun. I filled up those cameras so quickly. At one point I had over 20 to develop!  I think it was Freshman year in high school when my parents got me my first digital camera (for Christmas), anyway, I was so excited! I always had my camera, taking pictures wherever I went. I’ve known for a long time that photography is what I want to spend my life doing. Jared picked up photography when he and I started dating (I was 15 and he was 16). Like me, he had a knack and an obsession for capturing the most beautiful of moments. We went on so many adventures, taking pictures and enjoying life together. We got married in 2012, and have since talked about how it’s our dream to own our own photography studio one day, and for us both do photography full-time. We finally decided to just take a step out in faith and begin chasing our dreams, so that’s what we are doing! We are thrilled to see where this journey leads us. God has blessed us with a gift that we want to share with others. Along on this journey with us is our two favorite canvases, Emerie Rose who’s three and Oliver Allen who will be 1 in May. Life is too short to not spend it doing what you love with the people you love. I hope you’ll follow us on our quest, it’s only just beginning. -Jessica Gilliam

Leave a Reply

